Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Monday Run Day–The Day I Ran to Hollywood

It’s technically ‘Tuesday’ Run Day–excuse the belated post. I had a little out of town excursion with Kyle and we visited his family back home. We got back in town late last night. It was a tiring weekend and I’ll be glad to get back in the swing of things–I’ve got lots to do this week!

But I had to make sure to definitely complete my Monday Run Day because it was a good week of running! Stay tuned for my crazy run to Hollywood. Winking smile

I told myself that I’d do better than last week. I had actually set a goal for myself to run at least 1 more mile than I did last week. Got that taken care of! I surpassed that goal and got in 13 miles! Big difference from 5.2 miles, right?

Here’s the breakdown of my 3 days of running from August 6 through August 12.

My first run for the week was great. The first couple miles were great. I’m not sure what happened on my last split. I remember it started sprinkling for about 30 seconds–that must have slowed me down greatly. Winking smile It was a good run overall.

My second run was a short run that I’m glad I included into my week of running. Anyway to increase your mileage throughout the week is great! I ran from work to campus which is extremely close. It’s less than a mile away but I took detours to raise the total to a complete mile. Since I knew it was going to be a short run, I focused on my speed. I ran a great mile and it was a nice run through downtown and campus!
The funny thing about the recording of this particular run was that I ran to campus planning to steal Kyle’s car from work–he works at the University Bookstore–and then picking him up when he got off. Well I got to his car and started stretching and cooling off before heading home. I completely forgot my app was still running so I ran drove for .82 miles before I realized I hadn’t stopped my time. That’s why my max speed is 2:41 min/mile. I wouldn’t mind that pace per mile a single bit, though. Winking smile

I rewarded myself for that short slash awesome run with a couple tacos from a local Mexican food vendor. No shame!

Now, saving the best for last. My RUN TO HOLLYWOOD!
Ok, so that’s a little misleading. One of the two theaters we have in Columbia is Hollywood Theaters. That was the first job I landed when I moved here for school. That job sucked–but I digress. I ran to the theater–a ridiculously long run, but not as ridiculous as running to Hollywood, CA would’ve been. It was a fantastic run, nonetheless! One of my best!! Open-mouthed smile

I ran on one of the many main roads here in town. At 6 AM on a Saturday, it was dead as can be. The road was mine. It was so lovely.

I was amazed at my pace; I would be shocked every time I heard my pace for the last split stay within range from the split before it. I thought I was running the first couple miles too fast, so I aimed for about a 9:15 mile for the third split just so that I could keep steady and not tire out too quickly. I hit 9:15 dead on for the 3rd split. I realized a mile later when I ran a -0.02 split and felt just fine, that I could rock the rest of the run.

It was almost an exact 4.5 miles from my home to the theater so I was glad I would get an even mile run and wouldn’t have to worry about adding any detours to make a complete 9 miles.

I was faced with inclines around miles 4-6. Those were the roughest parts of the run. But I was glad to pull through.
I paused at the halfway mark at Hollywood!

And enjoyed the sunrise that I would be running away from as I headed West to go back home.

The rest of the run back home was smooth sailing. I made myself proud with the last split. I always remind myself of what my high school cross country coach said about finishing runs strong. You always have to pocket some energy for the last mile. That way you can just pull out whatever energy you have left and give your last mile your all. For my last mile, I wanted anything less than 9 minutes–even if it was 8:59…I wanted it.
When my coach read off 8:34, I was overjoyed. AMAZING RUN! Open-mouthed smile Open-mouthed smile

It took like 5 hours for my body to stabilize afterward but it was a run well worth it. I proved to myself what I’m capable of and how amazing the human body is to be able to accomplish things like that run!

Well, now it’s a new week and that brings along new goals. I don’t foresee a 9 mile run this week but shall we go for 14 miles for the week?? We’ll find out next Monday Run Day!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Monday Run Day–The Day I Ran to Hollywood

  1. FitNjess on said:

    looks like an awesome run!!!!

Any feedback?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

