Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Poor Baby…Ok, Moving On

Poor, neglected blog of mine. The start of a new school year is to blame for my absence. I knew that was going to happen so I’m not too torn about it. Priorities, right?

Moving forward, I did want to put together a short recap on a race last week. Kyle and I ran the Susan G. Komen 5K Race for the Cure here in town last Sunday. (It’s so nice doing in town events…I can’t say that enough!)

I honestly did not feel like I was going to perform as well at all when I woke up Sunday morning. I had spent the day before tailgating and going to the Mizzou game and filling up on burgers, pizza and maybe a couple beers. Maybe. Winking smile On top of that, my roommates decided to throw a party that Saturday night so I got little sleep.


The tailgating and football made for a great time, of course! But not the best for pre-race day–especially with all that yummy unhealthy food. It was a bummer too because I had “trained” pretty well and had some awesome runs in the days leading up to race day.

Sunday morning. I was scheduled to start running at 8:30 AM. We had planned to leave at 7:40 to be there at around 8. We didn’t leave until 8 and even then we had to turn around because Kyle forgot his headphones. Side note:  Usually I would have freaked out and made a big deal out of something like this, stressing myself out and every single person around me. I’m far too dramatic sometimes. But I kept myself from doing this because I didn’t want to ruin anyone’s morning. That’s not very nice. Kudos to myself. Winking smile

We got to the site and at this point was getting a little anxious because it was about 8:20. I wasn’t warmed up, stretched out and we were going to get left behind! I was able to get a couple minutes of stretching–not nearly enough as I would have liked, but it sufficed. Also, no one was left behind so that was not a problem.

The timed group–myself included–went first. Kyle didn’t run it competitively/timed so he took off after my group started.
There were people of so many age groups participating in the 5K. It was awesome! The support and encouragement throughout the course was equally as awesome!! I run with headphones. I’m not sure why but I get freaked out listening to myself breathing hard and hearing my footsteps so I always run with headphones when I’m running on my own time. At events, though, I leave the headphones at home. I’m afraid I’ll miss something or not pay attention to something on a course because I’m distracted by my music. I also know that most likely there will be people shouting out words of encouragement to the runners and I definitely wouldn’t want to miss out on that! It’s much appreciated and helps me push through till the end! Red heart

The cool part about this course was that it ended inside our Missouri Tiger football stadium. We ran the last 300 or so meters on the track. As I approached the tunnel to enter the field, my shoelace somehow managed to untie itself. #RunnerProbs to the max! I was not happy with my shoelace at all. I was on a roll and almost done so there was no way I was going to stop to tie my shoe. Instead, I slowed my pace and focused on not tripping and landing on my face. My darn shoelace kept me from sprinting to the end.

There were cheerleaders and volunteers cheering the runners on for the last few meters. It was awesome, needless to say.

Since Kyle started a bit after me, I was able to see him cross the finish line. Yay! Then we both hung out on the field for a while and stretched. We immediately talked time. We tracked our runs and were so impressed by our times. Neither of us were expecting good performances out of ourselves. I’m pretty sure Kyle PR’d and I have no idea anymore what my 5K PR is. All I know is that I had a great pace with an official time of 26:52.

We couldn’t have been any happier with our performances!
But it was time to sleep right after that race. Right back to bed I went. You sleep so good after you’ve finished an awesome run… Winking smile

Now if I thought I was nervous for that 5K, I’ve got Warrior Dash coming up this weekend! Yeah, super nervous and definitely not ready for that one. I haven’t been doing enough pushups and chin ups as I need to be doing. Winking smile I need to get on top of that asap.

My plan for the Warrior Dash is to have fun, get dirty and take as many pictures as I can! We’ll see how that goes! Wish me luck!!

Red heart

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Poor Baby…Ok, Moving On

  1. Good job girl! Nice time!! We did a run like that here in MN where you finished inside the stadium. Felt really cool!

  2. Pingback: Warrior Dash Craziness « Wild One the Third

Any feedback?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

