Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

A Letter to the Daughter I Hope I Never Have

Daughter,

I write this to you because I am scared. I am terrified of the world you will be born into. In my few years, I have learned that life is hard for everyone but more so for women. Why women? Well we have asked that question for so many years. I doubt there will ever be a satisfying answer.

I write this to you because I am mad. I am fierce. We are viewed as Man’s lesser counterpart. Weaker. Slower. Dumber. This angers me because it means we have to suffer. I have seen your grandmother shed so many tears. I am certain that her heart is broken from all the tears that have flooded her eyes. I am well on my way to a broken heart with all the disappointments, failures and betrayals I have dealt with. So many tears have fallen from my face that it hurts, Daughter.

I write this to you because the World will force you to see what I have seen, go through what I have gone through. Sure, those things eventually force you to be strong. I believe they have made me strong to a degree but I want for someone else’s daughter to be roughened by those things. Not you, Daughter. Maybe I am a coward but I know that a greater portion of your life will consist of suffering, and I do not wish that upon you. Maybe I am selfish but I know that I don’t want to experience any further anguish from seeing you suffer.

I want to protect you. The only way I can do that is by never having you.

With Love,
A Daughter

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Letter to the Daughter I Hope I Never Have

  1. This is beautiful and sad of the harsh world we live in for young women. Only thing we as women can do is stay strong and show the world we are just as smart, just as capable and just as equal.

    Beautiful post!

Any feedback?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

