Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Strong week so far!

Red heart  Happy Wednesday y’all! Halfway through the week!  Red heart

I saw this little banter earlier on twitter between @DrSherryPagoto and @mbfgmike that tickled my funny bone. #RunnersHumor  Winking smile

I can’t say I’ve done this but the thought has crossed my mind on some long, summer runs…

It’s been a good week for me so far!

More fun stuff from twitter (social networking, guys)! Yesterday I saw #RWRunStreak floating around on my newsfeed. Obviously I had to find out what that was all about. The hashtag is brought to you by Runner’s World’s official twitter. In a tweet kicking off the first day of #RWRunStreak, a link to an article was included explaining the idea behind this streak. It’s pretty cool. The primary benefit of taking part in this running streak is to motivate runners to keep going out on those runs even though temps are going up and we’re all going on vacations or out of town. It’s easy to say, “I’ll go for a run tomorrow instead….” You can’t do that anymore! Even if it’s just one mile a day, it counts. You can do it!

The Streak started on Memorial Day (5/28) and ends on Independence Day (7/4). That’s a whopping 38 consecutive days of running and in temperatures that will only be steadily rising as the days go by!
SunHoly heatstroke! Two words to anyone participating in this:  water and sunscreen. You’re welcome. Winking smile

When I saw the start date, I was glad I decided to go for a run on that hot Memorial Day, unknowingly kicking off the start of #RWRunStreak. One point for me. Thumbs up I also thought this couldn’t have come at a better time for me. At the end of my last post, I mentioned wanting to make running a daily part of my everyday routine. This was just the motivation I needed!

I knocked off Day 2 of #RWRunStreak with the help of Coby! We ran a mile around campus while waiting for Kyle to get off work. Coby got distracted a bit with squirrels and birds but he did a good job for the most part. He was a thirsty boy after the run!
Red heart

Hydrating and cooling off!

Also exciting news in the world of fitness (…in my life…), I finally started out Phase One of the P90X system everyone was/is talking about–I’m not sure if that’s popular anymore or not. That’s how it usually is…fitness trends come and go as with every other trend.

Anyway, in or not, it was a good workout. I completed it along with Kyle and I had a blast doing it. We worked on chest, back and abs. I could feel a burn on the target areas throughout the workout and I was definitely exhausted at the end. I didn’t wake up sore this morning as I was expecting to. Maybe I’m just awesome…? Or I have room to push myself harder. We’ll go with both. Winking smile

I’m excited about incorporating this training program into my running routine and so thankful I have Kyle to suffer along with me. I know how important full body muscle development is for runners, and I know this will help me with it. On top of increasing my aerobic capabilities with running, I do have a goal of increasing my muscle mass and developing definition. So I look forward to the results I’ll see with this program.

Progress will be posted. Winking smile

Are you setting any goals and working toward them?
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Strong week so far!

  1. Pingback: Gotta love progress… « Wild One the Third

Any feedback?

