Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Gotta love progress…

Random thought: Can’t believe we’re almost halfway done with 2012. Wow.

So, Kyle and I were successfully able to get through the first full week of P90X! Pat on the back for the both of us. That deal is no joke. It’s hard work but boy if it ain’t the hard work that’s giving me the results I’m seeing, then I don’t know what it is. I mentioned last time that I didn’t feel sore the morning after my first day of the program (chest, shoulders and abs). I had spoken too soon, though. I noticed later that day that my upper body was definitely fatigued. I want some more of that!

Day 2 was plyometrics.  I wish I could define plyometrics as an exercise that does all sorts of fan-freaking-tastic things for your body. Winking smile More technically put, though, it’s a “method of training for power or explosiveness.” (source) I feel like I have a love/hate attitude towards plyos: I did not enjoy getting my butt kicked but at the same time it was satisfying knowing I had given the routine my all and completed it to the best of my ability. I knew my body would benefit from it…it just wouldn’t feel like it at first. I definitely understand how important it is for runners to incorporate plyometric workouts into their training. It works to improve balance and improve speed and agility–three elements necessary for running.

Yesterday (Day 6), we completed our first kenpo workout. Kenpo is an American system of martial arts that uses crazy combinations to create a high intensity cardiovascular workout (source). It was one of the more enjoyable workouts but it did get intense during some parts. I’m not sure if I was having an off day yesterday but I just seemed to be the most imbalanced and uncoordinated person ever. (It’s important to note that balance and coordination are key to kenpo so…fail for me.) Kyle definitely looked 10 times more graceful from my point of view. We had fun and that was the best part (aside from getting a fantastic workout, of course)! Obviously, we were pros in the art of street fighting after that workout, so we thought it’d be fun to go out and get in some fights. Instead, we just beat up on each other for a little while. I love my workout partner. Red heart

I’m on the right delivering the blow…obviously.

Now, focusing more on the strength training aspect of P90X, I’m excited about the “muscle confusion” method that is the principle of the program. It’s true, if you keep doing the same reps with the same weight your body and muscles are going to accommodate to the repetition. The P90X system calls for a switch up in your strength training. That way your body avoids plateauing and you see results. I think it’s awesome that I can honestly say in the week I’ve followed through with the program, I’ve seen results in the muscle/definition department. My arms are killing it! I love it. Kyle himself is getting some beastly leg muscle definition. The boy’s got some fine legs. Winking smile

Today is our choice of Rest or X-Stretch day. Who needs rest!? Well I do, but I’m definitely looking forward to finding out what x-style stretching is like, so I can’t wait to do that later this evening. I’d like to go for a run as well but I think I’ll just go on a nice long walk with the puppy. It’s my “rest” day anyway….

I almost forgot it’s Monday. Have a great and productive week!

Open-mouthed smile

Single Post Navigation

Any feedback?

