Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

How Cool is the Human Body?

The human body is an amazing powerhouse that is capable of so many great feats.

I’m thankful to have a fully functioning body that allows me to do the things I do. I’m thankful that running is one of those things. There are a ton of features in our body that make us essentially born to run–one of the major ones being the legs. My legs have seen their share of bug bites, crawling fire ants, scratches, bruises, blood, fierce poison ivy, shin splints and combined miles of walking, cycling and running. They have yet to let me down. Every run I go on–whether it’s my best run or the most pathetic run ever–the complex system of ligaments, tendons, and sinewy muscle enclosed in my legs always does its job. A runner’s legs are truly invaluable. I try to remind myself how awesome my legs are–how awesome legs are in general. Winking smile

Moving away from the awesomeness that are our legs, I read an article the other day about the running capabilities of humans compared to the rest of our animal counterparts. We all know that most mammals can out-sprint a human but when it comes to distance running, us humans have it in the bag. Score for us. Thumbs up Scientists can safely say that humans are able to outlast a horse in a 26.2 mile marathon. Throw in the other endurance runners in the animal kingdom:  dogs, wolves, hyenas and antelope. Yep, we’re capable of outlasting them too. (Source)

How crazy, right? Crazy enough that I’m tempted to go sign up for a marathon! Alright, pulling in the reins…I’ll do that soon enough but now isn’t my time. Until that time comes, though, I will continue to take advantage of the awesome things the body is dexterous enough to take on. Open-mouthed smile

Pic sources: Greyhounds, wolves, hyena, antelope

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “How Cool is the Human Body?

  1. interesting! definitely didn’t know we could beat a horse in a race! i agree – the human body is pretty cool 🙂

  2. Pingback: Monday Run Day–The Day I Ran to Hollywood « Wild One the Third

Any feedback?

