Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Upcoming Happiest 5K Ever…

It’s Friday. Awesome. It’s actually not that exciting for me because I don’t have any fun plans for the weekend. Just work…at both of my jobs. Lame.

Next weekend is mine, though. I get to run the Color Run in Kansas City next week! I’m SO EXCITED about it and literally counting down the days until the run, as you can see by the countdown on my sidebar. Open-mouthed smile

I got an email early this morning about the pre-race info and got all pumped up for it all over again. I felt like going out and running 5 5k’s!

Did you catch that “Kansas City will be the BIGGEST Color Run event [that’s ever been] had!?!” I did. So stoked and so glad that I’m going to be a part of that huge group along with Kyle.

This will be my second 5k. I ran my first one back in March of ’09 and did really good for a first race without really even training for it. I placed 3rd in the female age group of 18-21. I had just turned 18 the month before, actually, and the thought of competing against 21 year olds was so intimidating. I beat them out, though, cause that’s what I do. Winking smile

With my handsome brother who also placed in the male division.

Regaining my humility, now, I feel like the 2 years since that first race have affected my performance and running capabilities. I have bad runs and good runs like all runners, but I feel like most of them are bad ones. That may just be me being my own worst critic but it’s a not-so-good feeling.

The Color Run is known to be the “Happiest 5k on the planet.” That’s so adorable, right? Doesn’t it look like these ladies are happy? Open-mouthed smile

The run isn’t timed because time doesn’t matter–you’re just supposed to have fun. Time always matters to me, though. My bad, but I can’t shake that–probably never will. I’m so competitive with myself. Honestly, if I weren’t running this with Kyle–who told me about the run–I’d be focusing on completing the 5k with a goal time in mind.

I know I’ll be running it at a slower pace than I’m used to so Kyle and I can reach the finish line together. I’m alright with that, though. I’m pretty sure he hasn’t trained hard for anything like this probably since he graduated high school, so it’s cool to see him working as hard as he has for this run. This being his first 5k! Aww yeah! I’m glad I’m gonna be able to share that with him. Hopefully he gets hooked and we can compete together in all sorts of races in the future. That’s not too much to ask for, right? Although, running can be quite expensive. Those entry fees are no joke.

Maybe it’s love…

There are races all through August so go to the Color Run website and check for a city near you. Definitely consider it! I haven’t ran it yet but I know it’s gonna be a run to remember!

Have a good weekend–one better than mine! Winking smileThumbs up

Single Post Navigation

Any feedback?

