Wild One the Third

Living this life I call my own.

Oh, America…

It was such a lovely day for baseball yesterday at Busch Stadium. Well, it was kinda hot and a little gross but since it was an evening game so it wasn’t incredibly bad.

Kyle and I only stayed till around the 6th inning. We had a long drive ahead of us and a walmart run to make. Also, it was kinda hot…. The Cards ended up beating the Dodgers 3-2 in the 12th inning.

For anyone who enjoys people watching, being at the ballpark is a nice post for just the occasion. I couldn’t help myself but I was just entranced by a family of five sitting a couple rows ahead of us enjoying the game. Now, before I go on, I know–we all know–that obesity is America’s number one health problem. I know that when you go to the ballpark, most Americans will enjoy a few overpriced beers and franks. I don’t know why, but it still shocks me to see when people who are overweight/obese scarf down the very items that have gotten them where they’re at weight-wise.

Back to this family, every single member was clearly over a healthy weight range. I’ve seen families like this before; it’s nothing new. Sometimes they’ll blame it on genetics or that they are big-boned. More often than not, it’s the lack of exercise and the unwholesome diet they consume that is the problem.

What really struck me was seeing the shape of the youngest member in this group, with the chubbiest of cheeks, chubby hand dimples, round pot belly…it was all there. Relatively speaking, she looked more overweight for her height and age group than a couple older members in the family. Start ’em out young, huh?

Seeing this bothered me so much. Why are you starting her out with this kind of destructive lifestyle at so young an age? I began to think about how it felt like for the little girl to be at her weight when most of her schoolmates are most likely within an appropriate weight range. I could imagine her running out of breath easily out in the playground–or worse, not even having the energy to play.

I continued to watch in disbelief as the girl so sweetly asked her dad for the bag of cotton candy sitting next to him. Without hesitation, he handed her a bag full of sugar and food coloring. The girl happily enjoyed about 2/3 of the bag, licking her fingers and all.

True, but sad story, folks.

I’m not sure why, but observing all this was just too much for me to handle. I honestly don’t know why it stirred up so much in me. It was probably pity. Pity for the poor girl who will probably have some serious health problems if nothing is done to better the quality of her food intake. She’s so young

This whole scenario made me value the effort I put into living a healthy lifestyle. It confirms that this is the best way for me to live my life. I just wish America would realize the importance of eating foods with nutritional value and the great impact exercise could have in one’s life. It would make a huge difference.

Oh, America…

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Oh, America…

  1. yay for a Dodger loss:)

Any feedback?

